ACM Awards: Keith Urban, Kacey Musgraves, Dan + Shay Among Winners

Keith Urban was named entertainer of the year at the Academy of Country Music’s annual ACM Awards on Sunday night.

After his name was called for the award, which is the group’s top honor, Urban kissed wife Nicole Kidman, who was sitting by him in the audience, and was hugged by Jason Aldean and Chris Stapleton on his way to the stage. In his speech, he gave a shoutout to Kidman along with their two daughters, Sunday and Faith.

Kacey Musgraves, who won the album of the year Grammy earlier this year, took home the same award at the ACMs on Sunday night. She also was named female artist of the year.

Meanwhile, Dan + Shay was among the night’s other big winners, taking home duo of the year as well as single and song of the year honors for “Tequila.” Thomas Rhett

 was named male artist of the year and in his speech joked that he was just going to give his awards to Dan + Shay so they had an even four trophies.

Musgraves, Urban and Dan + Shay were among the artists who broke records on Sunday night.

Reba McEntire hosted the show, which aired live on CBS from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas (tape-delayed on the West Coast), and she also performed. During her monologue, she called out the ACMfor not nominating any female singers in its top category, entertainer of the year.

Also during the show, Jason Aldean was honored with the ACM Dick Clark Artist of the Decade Award. George Strait introduced the singer, who also performed a medley of his hits. He was joined onstage by Kelly Clarkson.

In addition, This Is Us star Chrissy Metz, who also stars in the upcoming movie Breakthroughmade her live television performance debut,singing the song “I’m Standing With You,” from the movie, alongside Lauren Alaina, Mickey Guyton, Maddie & Tae and Carrie Underwood, who earlier in the show gave a solo performance of her song “Southbound.”

Before the show started, the organization announced winners in several categories: Dierks Bentley and Brothers Osborne won the ACM Award Music Event of the Year category for “Burning Man,” produced by Ross Copperman, Jon Randall Stewart and Arturo Buenahora Jr. and Capitol Records Nashville; Luke Combs was named best new male artist; LANCO was named best new group; and Ashley McBryde won the award for best new female artist. All of those winners also are scheduled to perform during the ceremony.

Other early winners included Old Dominion as group of the year and Chris Janson for video of the year, along with producer Ben Skipworth and director Jeff Venable, for “Drunk Girl.”

Meanwhile, other performers included Brooks & Dunn, Kane Brown, Luke Bryan, Brandi Carlile, Eric Church, Clarkson, Dan + Shay, Florida Georgia Line, Khalid, Miranda Lambert, Little Big Town, Chrissy Metz, Maren Morris, Old Dominion, Thomas Rhett, Blake Shelton, Chris Stapleton, George Strait and Keith Urban.

Presenters included Alaina, Jimmie Allen, Beth Behrs, Clint Black, Brooks & Dunn, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Jessie James Decker, Hunter Hayes, Jay Hernandez, Lady Antebellum, Midland, Nancy O’Dell, Danica Patrick, Carly Pearce, Dennis Quaid, Michael Ray, Strait, Cole Swindell, Underwood and Wilmer Valderrama.

(Excerpt) Read more and find a list of winners in: The Hollywood Reporter


ACM Awards: Keith Urban, Kacey Musgraves, Dan + Shay Among Winners

| Showbiz News | 0 Comments

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.